It was in that moment that you realized it was more than you could handle, and yet, you continued to read, to absorb the words on the screen, knowing that they, like a horrible nightmare, would stick with you forever.

Greetings!

They told me to start a blog, so I did. Don’t ask who ‘they’ are. No one really knows. As far as I can tell, ‘they’ appear to simply be a collective bunch that sort of order people around.

First order of business!

I don’t edit. Like ever. I write. I leave the editing of words and stuff to people better equipped for that sort of business. I may throw a comma in here and there, but usually I’m so hell-bent on getting the words out of my head that I don’t bother with all the grammatical stuff. So, if you came here looking for perfection, you found it- in a manner of things being imperfectly perfect!

I ask that you simply appreciate the words on the page, the story they tell, and let them take you to another place, even if that place happens to be Facebook or your email! I understand that you won’t always be interested in what I have to say, and that’s cool. I openly admit to not being very interesting. Heck, most of my time is spent asking to be left alone. It’s not like I’m living like a rock star out here in the sticks of Northern Michigan.

Perhaps you’re wondering who I am. I suppose I could give an introduction. I am K.G. Reuss, word wizard, secret squirrel, and bookaholic. I started reading and writing at a very young age. My grandma bought me my first ‘big girl’ book around the age of 5 or 6 years old. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. I read that book front to back a great many times and still call it one of my favorites- and that may be due to the fact that it was my first (and we never forget a first love, right?) and that my grandma, one of the most inspiring women in the world to me, gave it to me. She passed away two years ago and there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think of her. But enough about that sadness.

I grew up in Northern Michigan and did all the things a bookworm does-I read. A lot. I didn’t have many friends growing up, preferring to spend most of my time alone, a book in my hand. I was labeled weird and was shunned a bit by some of the snootier members of my family (some even resorting to hiding my books or burning them. Yes, that happened). I was a quiet kid with a sharp tongue when provoked and most didn’t take kindly to me fighting back when backed into a corner. I soon earned the ‘freak’ title, but I ran with it. I always chose to embrace the things that made me different rather than sulk about them. Even today I will grin when called a weirdo.

My teenage years were about like my younger years, only I had a car to get to the bookstore. I didn’t go out and party, and I still didn’t have a ton of friends, but the ones I did have, I loved. I spent a lot of time reading and writing. I played in band (saxophone and was a drum major), I spent some time in drama (and I even helped write and direct one of our plays as well as produce a couple), I was a cheerleader (I had a boyfriend on the football team and I wanted a free ride to the games. Sue me for being thrifty!), I was an honor student, I played softball for a short time, and I played video games with the guys. In one of our yearbooks, I was photographed with a caption of “Marilyn Manson lookalike”. Thanks, assholes! Marilyn Manson was, and is, still one of my heroes. The guy has a way with words, and I admire that.  I was voted Class Critic (which was no surprise. Honestly, I should also be voted Workplace Critic, too).

I graduated from high school, got a couple scholarships, and I made my way to college. There’s some dark patches during this time, and I don’t feel like getting into the nitty-gritty of it all. Let it be known that during this particular point in my life, I was beginning to find myself. A brief overview would simply be that I had a boyfriend, and we lived together after graduation, and even married. He wasn’t the person I thought he was and I suffered by his hand, and his words, more than any one person should. It took me the better half of twelve years to work up the courage to leave. When I finally did, I felt like I was reborn, fresh breath in my lungs. It changed me into who I am today: I won’t take an ounce of crap from anyone and I’ll fight back until the oxygen leaves my lungs. I won’t be a victim. Ever. Again. That I vow, I promise.

I ended up remarried at some point back in July 2009. Don’t ask me the specific date. I don’t remember, nor do I really care. It’s not that I’m apathetic, it’s just that I’m married to an okay dude, we have kids, I have a career, and I have a hard enough time remembering where I left my keys. I don’t need to add dates and stuff to the jumble in my head!

So, that basically takes us to the present. I work on an ambulance, I read a few books a week, I’m a mom, and a wife. I love metalcore. The heavier, the better! I enjoy photography and ghost hunting when I have the time. I make it a point to go concert hopping as often as possible, too!

And….I write. I dream. I try to make it all come true. Mostly. I mean, as best I can. I’m currently working on the sequel to Oracle and another series called Emissary of the Devil.

That pretty much glosses over who I am!

You can find me on Facebook at

Facebook.com/kgreuss

or Twitter at

Twitter.com/kgreuss

or Goodreads at

Goodreads.com/kgreuss

or here….

Honestly, I’m really terrible at social media. I forget to post and I’m really not very interesting, as stated above. However, I will try to entertain a small handful of people!

My book, The Chronicles of Winterset, Oracle, is now available on Kindle!

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01HYTWRIW#navbar

Thanks for checking out my blog. Hopefully I’ll remember to keep posting. 😀

 

Leave a Reply

